Board Awards Aspiring Teachers Scholarships


<< Back to NCHS Blog

At their May work session, the Caroline County Board of Education awarded Aspiring Teacher Scholarships to three Caroline students:

  • Zulema Delacruz Martinez – North Caroline High School – Zulema plans to major in Elementary Education at Chesapeake College.
  • Ethan Dvorak – North Caroline High School – Ethan will be an Early Childhood Education major at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.
  • Madison Nepert – Colonel Richardson High School – Madison will be attending the University of Maryland and majoring in Special Education and Speech Pathology.

In 2015, the Board established the Aspiring Teachers Scholarship to assist CCPS graduates in obtaining a four-year degree in the field of teacher education, along with eligibility for a teaching certificate in Maryland at the conclusion of that degree. Along with ‘growing our own’ teachers, the Board’s intent was to encourage diversity in the teaching staff and address needs in declared critical shortage areas.

The annual award to each student is a $5,000 renewable four-year scholarship. Continued eligibility is based on continuing with an education major, obtaining a scholarship, accepting an employment offer if made by CCPS, and teaching for a minimum of two years.

President Jim Newcomb congratulated students and said he looked forward to welcoming them back to Caroline County Public Schools as employees.